Women’s Cross Country Staff Honored for 3rd Straight Season

Women’s Cross Country Staff Honored for 3rd Straight Season


St. Louis, Mo., Nov. 2, 2016 – Washington University in St. Louis cross country was awarded the University Athletic Association (UAA) Women's Cross Country Coaching Staff of the Year for the third straight season, as announced on Wednesday, after the Bears women won their third consecutive UAA Championship over the weekend in Atlanta, Ga. 

Head coach Jeff Stiles and assistant coaches Kelli Blake, Trent Evans and Josh Clark helped push the Bears to a first place finish and an impressive score of 33 during the championship weekend. WashU placed four women within the top seven runners as each individual earned first team All-UAA honors.

Junior Aly Wayne led the Bears as the individual champion to earn the UAA Runner of the Year honor while Ellie Degen, Anna Maurer and Alison Lindsay were the other Bears to earn a spot on the All-UAA first team. 

The Bears freshman Elizabeth Hagstrom was also honored as the Rookie of the Year, an award given to the top placing first-year runner during conference championships.

Junior David O'Gara was the Runner of the Year on the men's side after he ran to a first place finish with a time of 24:44.48. Sophomore Kyle Cepeda and senior Sawyer Kelly earned second team All-UAA honors for the men. 

WashU will have one final tune up before NCAA regionals on Thursday at 4 p.m. in the North Central Red/White Open in Winfield, Ill. Be sure to stay up to date on all your Bears scores and awards by following @WashUBears on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.