Wayne and O’Gara Lead Cross Country to UAA Titles

Wayne and O’Gara Lead Cross Country to UAA Titles


Atlanta, Ga., Oct. 29, 2016 – The Washington University in St. Louis women's and men's cross country teams ran to first place finishes during the University Athletic Association (UAA) Championship races in Atlanta, Ga. Saturday morning. The men shared the UAA title with Carnegie Mellon as both teams totaled 58 points.

The women's title was the 15th UAA cross country title in school history. It was also the third consecutive season that the women have won the title. With the Co-Championship the men earned their 10th UAA cross country title and first since 2014. 

Leading the way for the Bears and finishing first individually among all UAA competition were juniors Aly Wayne and David O'Gara for the women and the men, respectively. The WashU women had four runners to finish with top-10 times, as the team collectively totaled 33 points compared to second place University of Chicago's 75.

Wayne finished with a season best time of 21:25.29, more than 20 seconds in front of the second place finisher. Joining Wayne on the All-UAA first team was sophomore Ellie Degen (fourth) and juniors Anna Maurer (sixth) and Alison Lindsay (seventh).  This marks the second consecutive season that Degen and Lindsay have earned All-UAA first team honors. 

O'Gara also finished with a season best time of 24:44.48 to lead the men's team. O'Gara edged Brandeis' Ryan Stender by two seconds to claim the individual running title and the first spot on the All-UAA first team. Sophomore Kyle Cepeda (ninth) and senior Sawyer Kelly (10th) earned second team All-UAA honors.



WOMEN-6K (76 runners)

1. Aly Wayne – 21:25.29

4. Ellie Degen – 21:58.27

6. Anna Maurer – 22:07.42

7. Alison Lindsay – 22:08.28

15. Elizabeth Hagstrom – 22:31.26

18. Kimberly Johnson – 22:41.94

23. Audrey Western – 22:51.50


MEN-8K (76 runners)

1. David O'Gara – 24:44.48

9. Kyle Cepeda – 25:06.58

10. Sawyer Kelly – 25:08.17

17. Kirby Simon – 25:19.15

21. Nick Matteucci – 25:24.06

27. Peter Johnsrud – 25:41.57

28. Jimmy Qiao – 25:46.10