Softball Has 16 Named to UAA 30th Anniversary Team

Softball Has 16 Named to UAA 30th Anniversary Team


Rochester, N.Y., March 27, 2018 – Washington University in St. Louis had a conference-best 16 student-athletes named to the University Athletic Association (UAA) All-Association 30th Anniversary Softball Team, as announced by the Association Tuesday.

Highlighting the honorees is the only player in softball history to earn Most Valuable Player honors four consecutive years, Laurel Sagartz who accomplished the feat from 2004-07. Megan Light of Emory was named Most Valuable Player three times, first in her rookie season in 2011 and then in back-to-back years in 2013 and 2014.

Five Bears joined Sagartz as four-time All-Association selections: Victoria Ramsey (2002-05), Monica Hanono (2003-06), Ashton Hitchcock (2007-10), Claire Voris (2008-11), and Corissa Santos (2009-12). Hannah Mehrle and Anna McKee were named the first Position Player of the Year and Pitcher of the Year, respectively, in 2017.

Eight other Bears were also named to the team: Anne Gregory, Jamie Kressel, Maggie Mullen, Annie Pitkin, Amanda Roberts, Karli Stander, Liz Swary and Adrienne White.

In 23 years, 45 teams from the UAA have earned a trip to the NCAA Division III Softball Championship. Emory reached the Division III eight-team quarterfinal round in 2002, 2003, 2007, and 2016. WashU finished as the national runner-up in 2007. Rochester reached the NCAA quarterfinal round in 2014.

WashU has a 115-41 (.737) all-time record in UAA play, and has won 10 UAA titles – 2000, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2014, 2015, 2017.