WashU Has 22 Named UAA Presidents Council Scholar Athletes

WashU Has 22 Named UAA Presidents Council Scholar Athletes

St. Louis, Mo., July 30, 2019
— Washington University in St. Louis had 22 student-athletes named to the 11th annual University Athletic Association (UAA) Presidents Council Scholar-Athlete Team, as announced by the conference office.

Emory University had a conference-best 23 student-athletes named to the team, while WashU (22) was second and Carnegie Mellon University (21) was third. Case Western Reserve University (19), University of Chicago (18), New York University (7), University of Rochester (4) and Brandeis University (3) rounded out the conference honorees.

This year's team is comprised of 117 student-athletes representing eight UAA member institutions across 12 men's sports and 11 women's sports. To achieve this recognition, a student-athlete must earn first-team All-Association honors and carry a 3.50 or greater cumulative GPA during that playing season.

Headlining WashU's selections were Taylor Arends (Softball), Heidi Nassos (Women's Track & Field) and David O'Gara (Men's Cross Country), who picked up the accolade for the third-straight season. In addition, Tim Goblirsch (Men's Track & Field), Madeline Homoly (Women's Basketball), Julianne Malek (Volleyball), Nick Matteucci (Men's Track & Field), Jason Singer (Men's Track & Field), Sophie Watterson (Women's Cross Country) Eddie Wintergalen (Men's Track & Field) garnered the honor for the second-straight season.

WashU honorees include:
Taylor Arends – Softball

Darcy Cunningham – Women's Soccer

Tim Goblirsch - Men's Track and Field

Madeline Homoly - Women's Basketball

Eka Jose - Women's Track & Field

Paige Lawler – Women's Cross Country

Ryan Loutos - Baseball

Julianne Malek - Volleyball

Nick Matteucci - Men's Track & Field

Heidi Nassos - Women's Track & Field

Jack Nolan – Men's Basketball

David O'Gara - Men's Cross Country

Arthur Santoro – Men's Track & Field

Jack Sebok – Men's Track & Field

Jason Singer - Men's Track & Field

Ryan Sproule – Men's Soccer

John Harry Wagner – Men's Track & Field

Caira Watson Haynes – Women's Track & Field

Sophie Watterson - Women's Cross Country

Aly Wayne – Women's Cross Country, Women's Indoor Track & Field

Andrew Whitaker – Men's Track & Field

Eddie Wintergalen - Men's Track & Field

The UAA Presidents Council created the special recognition in 2009. The original recommendation to establish the honor came from the UAA Student-Athlete Advisory Committee and was supported by the Athletic Administrators and Delegates Committees.