WashU Sweeps UAA XC Titles for 3rd Straight Year

Photos by Scott and Brad Margolin/WUSTL Photos
Photos by Scott and Brad Margolin/WUSTL Photos

Somers, Wis., Oct. 28, 2018 – The Washington University in St. Louis cross country program swept the University Athletic Association (UAA) Championships for the third consecutive season and seventh time overall in school history during Sunday's championship race at the Wayne E. Dannehl National Cross Country Course in Somers, Wis.

All seven of the Bears UAA Championship sweeps have come under head coach Jeff Stiles watchful eye, as Rochester is the only other program to sweep the cross country championships doing so in the conference's inaugural 1987 season. In addition, Stiles has coached the Bears individuals to five medalist sweeps as well with the most recent tandem being senior Brad Hodkinson and junior Paige Lawler.


The No. 2-nationall ranked men ran without several of its top runners but still posted the top-five combined times out of the eight UAA teams competing, including No. 12-ranked Carnegie Mellon (37) who placed second and No. 18-ranked Chicago (98) who placed third. The Bears finished with a total time of 2:08:48.4 and 31 points to outpace the Tartans' 2:09:59.9 collective time.

Hodkinson matched his second fastest time as a Bear, clocking a winning time of 25:19.8 during the 8K race. He averaged a second faster per mile pace, 5:05, than runner-up and back-to-back conference champion teammate David O'Gara (25:23.0). WashU senior Peter Johnsrud made it three consecutive Bears to cross the finish line when he finished in 25:45.3. Hodkinson, O'Gara and Johnsrud were all awarded all-UAA First Team honors for finishing in the top-seven.

Also earning all-UAA honors for the first time in his career was senior Chris Blagg after missing out on the award by one placement in 2017. He placed 10th overall with a time of 26:06.8 and earned all-UAA second team accolades for finishing between 8th-14th place.

Freshman Patrick Norrick was the posted the Bears fifth and final time to count. He crossed the end line in 26:13.8 to claim 15th place. Sophomore Scott Mitchell (26:14.5) and junior Noah Trimark (26:22.0) finished with the Bears sixth and seventh fastest times.


In a conference championship that pitted six top-25 nationally ranked teams against each other, No. 2 WashU scored 24 points with five top-10 times. The Bears had six individuals earn all-UAA honors by placing in the top 14 despite only five times counting towards the team effort. Lawler earned the medalist honor by posting her fastest 6K time of the year 21:15.7.

She was followed by former UAA Champion, Aly Wayne (2016), who placed third overall by posting her fastest run of the year as well, 21:46.2. Junior Sophie Watterson placed fourth (22:00.3) and freshman Gabby McGinn was seventh (22:27.6) as all four Bears earned all-UAA First Team distinction.

Senior Lisa Gorham wasn't far behind as she earned all-UAA Second Team honors with a ninth place finish (22:32.0) to wrap up the Bears scoring lineup. However, sophomore Katie Snodgrass (22:45.3) would not be denied all-UAA Second Team honors as well, placing 14th overall. Sophomore Megan Girmscheid (22:49.1) posted the Bears seventh fastest times.

No. 12 Chicago placed second with 71 points followed by No. 8 Brandeis (73), No. 18 Rochester (123), No. 17 Emory (126) and No. 25 Carnegie Mellon (147). Case Western Reserve (156) and New York (248) finished seventh and eighth respectively.

WashU's next race will be Thursday, Nov. 1 at North Central College. Be sure to stay up to date on all your Bears scores and awards by following @WashUBears on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.



Place. Name – Time (UAA Honors)

1. Brad Hodkinson - 25:19.8 (Champion, All-UAA First Team)

2. David O'Gara – 25:23.0 (All-UAA First Team)

3. Peter Johnsrud – 25:45.3 (All-UAA First Team)

10. Chris Blagg – 26:06.8 (All-UAA Second Team)

15. Patrick Norrick – 26:13.8 (UAA All-Rookie Team)


Place. Name – Time (UAA Honors)

1. Paige Lawler – 21:15.7 (Champion, All-UAA First Team)

3. Aly Wayne – 21:46.2 (All-UAA First Team)

4. Sophie Watterson – 22:00.3 (All-UAA First Team)

7. Gabby McGinn – 22:27.6 (All-UAA First Team, UAA All-Rookie Team)

9. Lisa Gorham – 22:32.0 (All-UAA Second Team)

14. Katie Snodgrass – 22:45.3 (All-UAA Second Team)