WashU Lands 23 on UAA’s 30th Anniversary XC Teams

WashU Lands 23 on UAA’s 30th Anniversary XC Teams

St. Louis, Mo., Oct. 12, 2017 – The Washington University in St. Louis cross country program was honored with 23 individuals on the University Athletic Association (UAA) 30th Anniversary Men's and Women's Cross Country Teams. A total of 94 student-athletes earned the honor as WashU finished with a conference high 23 honorees.

The team consists of each student-athlete who earned Individual Champion honors or accumulated five or more points in her career, with two points awarded for All-Association first-team recognition, and one point for second team honors.

Women's Cross Country Team
WashU finished with a conference leading 14 honorees as a total of eight Bears have combined for 14 individual UAA titles including the only three-time champion, Lucy Cheadle (2012-14). In addition, Cheadle is one of just five student-athletes to earn first team All-Association honors four consecutive years.

Beth Herndon and Emily Richard also received first team honors in all four years at WashU including multiple medalist honors. Richard was the individual champion in 1996 and 1997, while Herndon won in 2005 and 2006.

Maggie Grabow (2003-04) and Taryn Surtees (2008-09) were also two-time UAA Champions. Claiming single UAA crowns were Karen Sorensen (1989), Erica Jackey (2011) and Aly Wayne (2016).

Also garnering selection were three-time first team All-Association members Jerylin Jordan, Alison Lindsay and Tyler Mulkin. Susan Chou and Julie Hoover also garnered selection with two first team All-UAA and one second team All-UAA honors.

Elizabeth Phillips, the 2012 NCAA Woman of the Year, also earned a spot on the UAA 30th Anniversary team as a two-time first team and two-time second team All-Association honoree.

Men's Cross Country Team
The Bears had nine honorees to finish one short of Rochester's conference leading 10 recipients. WashU is the only program to contain multiple back-to-back individual champions in Tim Julien (1998-99) and Michael Burnstein (2010-11). Julien earned three first team All-Association honors which was duplicated by only one other student-athlete.

During a four-year period, three Bears combined to win each UAA Championship between 2010-13. Burnstein won the first two before Kevin Sparks (2012) and Drew Padgett (2013) earned the medalist honors in the two successive seasons.

Just a single season separated the Bears from another set of back-to-back individual titles by Josh Clark (2015) and David O'Gara (2016).

Also earning the honors were Brennan Bonner, Matt Hoelle and Patrick MacDonald. Bonner was a three-time All-Association first team representative while Hoelle and MacDonald earned a mixture of first and second team All-Association honors.