Women’s Cross Country Repeats as UAA Champs, Men Finish Second

Women’s Cross Country Repeats as UAA Champs, Men Finish Second

Boston, Mass., Oct. 31, 2015 – The Washington University in St. Louis women's cross country team had five individuals finish in the top-14 as the Bears repeated as the University Athletic Association (UAA) Champions Saturday. Senior Josh Clark raced to the UAA individual championship to lead the WashU men to a runner-up team finish at the conference meet.

All five point scorers for the WashU women ran to All-UAA honors as the Bears scored 35 points to win the team title by 48 points over runner-up University of Rochester. It was the second UAA title in a row for the WashU women, and the 14th conference championship in program history. The WashU men had six runners in the top-25 to score 68 points, finishing second behind Carnegie Mellon University, who won the team title with 53.

Freshman Ellie Degen, sophomore Alison Lindsay and senior Ellen Toennies each raced to first-team All-UAA honors by finishing third through fifth, respectively, in the women's race. Junior Sarah Curci (ninth) and sophomore Anna Maurer (14th) both earned second-team All-UAA accolades. Lindsay, Toennies and Curci also earned first-team All-UAA honors last season.

Clark became the fifth individual in WashU men's cross country history to race to the UAA title, winning the race with a season-best 8K time of 24:56. He finished six seconds ahead of the runner-up, Emory University's Lukas Mees. Clark earned first-team All-UAA honors for the second year in a row after finishing fourth overall last season.

Sophomore David O'Gara and junior Ben Rosenkranz each picked up second-team All-UAA honors for the WashU men, finishing 12th and 13th, respectively. Both O'Gara and Rosenkranz ran career-best 8K times to earn second-team All-UAA accolades for the first time in their careers.


WOMEN – 6K (80 runners)
1. Emily Bryson (Brandeis) – 22:04
3. Ellie Degen – 22:08
4. Alison Lindsay – 22:11
5. Ellen Toennies – 22:12
9. Sarah Curci – 22:24
14. Anna Maurer – 22:40
21. Bri Tiffany – 22:54
23. Annie Marggraff – 22:58
42. Audrey Western – 23:16
45. Jeri Glicksman – 23:24
52. Kimberly Johnson – 23:35

MEN – 8K (76 runners)
1. Josh Clark – 24:56
12. David O'Gara – 25:30
13. Ben Rosenkranz – 25:31
20. Alex Goldberg – 25:44
22. Adam Streicher – 25:47
25. Peter Johnsrud – 25:50
37. Thomas Gales – 26:10
45. Jimmy Qiao – 26:23
56. Elvir Sarajlic – 26:47

Up Next: The WashU cross country teams return to action at the NCAA Midwest Regional Saturday, Nov. 14, at Saukie Golf Course in Rock Island, Ill.