Men's Cross Country Wins Fourth Straight UAA Title, Women Finish Fourth

Men's Cross Country Wins Fourth Straight UAA Title, Women Finish Fourth

Pittsburgh, Pa., Nov. 2, 2013 – The Washington University in St. Louis men's cross country team had six runners finish in the top-15 as the Bears ran away with the University Athletic Association (UAA) Championship for the fourth year in a row. The Washington U. women finished fourth overall with two runners in the top-15.

Junior Drew Padgett and senior Kevin Sparks placed first and second, respectively, to lead the Washington U. men to their eighth team title in program history and fourth in a row. The Bears scored 26 points to finish 23 points ahead of runner-up New York University. Padgett was named the UAA Men's Runner of the Year after winning the individual championship. He was the fourth individual champion in a row for Washington U. after Sparks won the title a year ago.

Junior Lucy Cheadle raced to her second UAA title in a row to lead the Washington University women to a fourth-place team finish. Washington U. scored 92 points and was edged by just four points for third place by Brandeis University. University of Chicago won the women's team title with 54 points to finish six points ahead of runner-up NYU. Cheadle received UAA Women's Runner of the Year and first-team all-UAA honors with her first-place finish.

"The men ran a textbook race," head coach Jeff Stiles said. "The women ran well overall, but we can run better. It was our best meet of the season so far. Our focal point is qualifying for nationals and both teams took showed that our best races are still to come this season."

Padgett and Sparks, along with senior Michael Ellenberger (fifth) and junior Garrett Patrick (sixth) earned first-team all-UAA honors with their top-seven finishes. Junior Ryan Senci (12th) and senior Elliott Petterson (14th) picked up second-team all-UAA honors by placing in the top-14. In addition, freshman Ethan Brodeur garnered UAA Men's Rookie of the Year honors with his 17th-place finish. The six all-UAA finishers equaled the most in school history for the WUSTL men. The Bears also had six all-UAA honorees in 2000.

MEN – 8K – 75 runners
1. Drew Padgett – 25:10.5 – UAA Runner of the Year
2. Kevin Sparks – 25:17.1
5. Michael Ellenberger – 25:31.4
6. Garrett Patrick – 25:34.0
12. Ryan Senci – 25:50.7
14. Elliott Petterson – 25:56.5
17. Ethan Brodeur – 26:00.5 – UAA Rookie of the Year
25. Brett Baker – 26:13.4
28. Evan Miller – 26:19.6
29. Josh Clark – 26:20.3

WOMEN – 6K – 79 runners
1. Lucy Cheadle – 21:38.4 – UAA Runner of the Year
15. Sarah Curci – 22:51.1
23. Ellen Toennies – 23:09.8
25. Bri Tiffany – 23:14.0
28. Annie Marggraff – 23:18.3
33. Lizzy Handschy – 23:27.9
36. Kathleen Valadez – 23:37.3
37. Elizabeth Worley – 23:38.1
47. Ahna Buntrock – 23:58.4
67. Kimberly Johnson – 24:50.1

Up Next: The Washington University men's and women's cross country teams have two weeks to prepare for the NCAA Midwest Regional Championships scheduled for Saturday, Nov. 16, in Rock Island, Ill.