Jim Conlon Named 2013 NSCAA Division III Central Region Coach of the Year

Jim Conlon Named 2013 NSCAA Division III Central Region Coach of the Year

St. Louis, Mo., December 3, 2013 – For the second-consecutive year, Washington University in St. Louis women's soccer coach Jim Conlon was named the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) Division III Central Region Women's Soccer Coach of the Year, the association announced Tuesday.

Conlon guided Washington University to a school record 20-1-1 overall mark, and advanced to the NCAA Division III Quarterfinals for the third-straight season and seventh time in school history. The Bears also won their second-consecutive and ninth University Athletic Association (UAA) Championship with a 7-0 record. Washington U. was ranked No. 1 in the NSCAA/Continental Tire Top-25 Poll for the second time in school history.

"We had an amazing season. All eight seniors were amazing players, leaders and friends, which led us to winning many games this year," said Conlon. "Steph (Ackerman) and I have been working with this team for six years and this senior class really took the lessons of the first three seasons and created a memorable season while acting with class, integrity and respect. They learned lessons from assistant coaches Caitlin Malone, Emma Brown and Steph Ackerman to create a great team atmosphere on and off the field."

In six seasons on the Danforth Campus, Conlon has led Washington University to a 100-24-9 (.786) overall record, four UAA championships and six trips to the NCAA Tournament. He also guided the 2009 team to the Final Four and an appearance in the national championship game.

"I am extremely proud of our coaching staff and our players. I am thankful to the administration that supports WashU women's soccer in developing independent thinking successful women," Conlon added.

Conlon will be recognized at the annual All-America Luncheon, to be held Saturday, Jan. 18, in conjunction with the 2014 NSCAA Convention in Philadelphia. The National Coach of the Year will be announced during the week of Dec. 16.