Pair of Bears Secure Final Entries at DIII T&F Nationals

Geneva, Ohio, May 24, 2019 – The Washington University in St. Louis track & field program had four Bears compete at the NCAA Division III Outdoor Track & Field National Championships Friday evening at Spire Institute in Geneva, Ohio.

WashU had two individuals earn trips into Saturday's finals from the preliminary rounds Friday. The No. 1-ranked WashU women still lead the field with 27 points followed by No. 5 Johns Hopkins (19) and No. 16 Chicago (15). No. 6 MIT still leads the men's field with 14 points followed by No. 7 John Carroll (13) and No. 1 Wisconsin-Eau Claire (12).

100m Hurdles Prelims

Senior Jay Pittman matched a personal-best 14.27 time and seed placement of ninth to secure a place in the 100m hurdle finals. One week removed from setting the personal-record, Pittman duplicated it. Sophomore Caira Watson Haynes placed 13th out of 22 runners with a time of 14.55.

400m Prelims

Sophomore John Harry Wagner placed seventh overall after posting the third fastest time in the third heat, crossing the finish line in 48.19. He secured a place in the final event on Saturday, one day after helping the top-seeded men's 4x400m relay run to the fastest time in prelims.

800m Prelims

Sophomore Arthur Santoro competed in the second heat of the 800m prelims which produced six of the top-12 times and recorded the sixth fastest time in the group. His 1:52.38 time placed him in 12th place out of 20 competitors.

Saturday Schedule

11:30 AM (ET) – Women's 3,000m Steeplechase Final – Molly Shepherd

11:45 AM (ET) – Men's 3,000m Steeplechase Final – Jack Sebok  

12:35 PM (ET) – Men's 1,500m Final – Nick Matteucci, Jacob Ridderhoff

12:50 PM (ET) – Women's 100m Hurdles Final –Jay Pittman

1:20 PM (ET) – Men's 400m Final – John Harry Wagner

1:45 PM (ET) – Women's Triple Jump Final – Eka Jose and Heidi Nassos

3:00 PM (ET) – Women's 5,000m Final – Aly Wayne

3:25 PM (ET) – Men's 5,000m Final – Nick Matteucci and Brad Hodkinson

4:00 PM (ET) – Men's 4x400m Relay Final – Jason Singer, Andrew Whitaker, Eddie Wintergalen, John Harry Wagner