Men Win UAA Indoor T&F Title; Women Place Second

Men Win UAA Indoor T&F Title; Women Place Second

Cleveland, Ohio, Feb. 25, 2018 – At the conclusion of the University Athletic Association (UAA) Indoor Track & Field Championships at Case Western Reserve University the Washington University in St. Louis men's team captured its 16th title in program history while the WashU women were narrowly edged for a runner-up finish.

The WashU men finished Saturday's schedule with two event titles and eight all-UAA honors in route to totaling 120 points to finish 14 points ahead of runner-up Carnegie Mellon. Meanwhile the WashU women had 10 all-UAA honors including one event title on Saturday and totaled 129 points to be narrowly outdone by Chicago's 138 points.

Team Rankings



1. WashU


1. Chicago


2. Carnegie


2. WashU


3. Chicago


3. Emory


4. NYU


4. Brandeis


5. Case


5. Case


6. Brandeis


6. NYU


7. Emory


6. Carnegie



With the men's championship, WashU has won at least the men's or women's indoor title in five consecutive seasons in addition to Jeff Stiles leading the Bears men to seven UAA indoor titles in 10 seasons as the head coach.

Sophomore Nick Matteucci captured the one-mile event title with a personal-best time of 4:13.28. For national considerations, his time was converted to 4:10.09 which ranks 11th in Division III this year. Junior Tim Goblirsch also claimed an event title with a pole vault height of 4.36m, while sophomore Brandon Hutchison tied Goblirsch in height but took second on misses for all-UAA honors.

Junior Zae Alcedo sprinted to a second place finish in the 60m dash (7.01) while nearly matching his school record time he set in the prelims on Saturday.

Also earning all-UAA honors with top-three finishes were senior Ezugo Onejeme in the triple jump (13.49m), senior Thomas Gales in the 800m (1:56.23), junior Eddie Wintergalen in the 400m (50.84) and freshman Andrew Whitaker in the 60m hurdles (8.35).

In total, the WashU men combined for 12 all-UAA honors including Saturday's two event titles.


Senior Annalise Wagner led the women with career-best indoor time of 2:11.78 in the 800m to take first, as her time was converted for national considerations to 2:10.28 which ranks second in Division III. She was joined in all-UAA honors in the event by freshman Sophie Grigaux who placed third with a time of 2:14.05.

Grigaux and Wagner also combined efforts with sophomores Nicky Althoff and Sara Mesiano in the 4x400m relay to earn third by crossing the finish line in 3:58.61. Their converted time ranks 13th in the country.

Junior Jay Pittman hurdled her way into Division III's top-25 times on the season when she placed second overall with a career-best time of 9.01 in the 60m hurdles. Finishing third in the event for WashU was freshman Caira Watson Haynes (9.07).

Also leaping into the countries top-25 marks was junior Heidi Nassos who placed second in the triple jump with career-best 11.46m jump. The jump ranks 25th nationally and earned Nassos all-UAA honors in the event for the second straight season. Freshman Eka Jose's 11.32m triple jump mark ranked third and earned her all-UAA honors as well.

Senior Alison Lindsay made her indoor track season debut and placed second in the 3,000m with a time of 10:03.61 as sophomore Sophie Watterson earned third place in the event (10:06.75). During her career Lindsay earned all-UAA honors all four seasons in the 3,000m, including the 2017 title with a school record time of 9:44.92.

Junior Abby Martin posted a career-best one-mile time to earn third place with a time of 5:05.46. In total, the WashU women finished with all-UAA honors (top-three finishes) in 14 events with three event titles.

The Bears next competition will be in Waverly, Iowa at the Wartburg Qualifier on Fri.-Sat., March 2-3. Be sure to stay up to date on all your Bears scores and awards by following @WashUBears on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

UAA Event Champions


Tim Goblirsch – Pole vault (4.36m)

Nick Matteucci – One-mile run (4:13.28)


Julia Dannenbaum – Pole vault (3.77m)

Paige Lawler – 5,000m (7:20.42)

Annalise Wagner – 800m (2:11.78)

All-UAA Honorees


Zae Alcedo – 60m (7.01, second)

Michael Billington – DMR (10:09.41, second)

Chris Blagg – DMR (10:09.41, second)

Thomas Gales – 800m (1:56.23, third)

Tim Goblirsch – Pole vault (4.36m, first)

Brandon Hutchison – Pole vault (4.36m, second)

Peter Johnsrud – 5,000m (14:58.12, second)

Nick Matteucci – One-mile (4:13.28, first), DMR (10:09.41, second)

Collis McKenzie – High jump (1.91m, second)

David O'Gara – 5,000m (15:02.06, third)

Ezugo Onejeme – Triple jump (13.49m, third)

Quin Preston – Weight throw (15.61m, second)

Marco Quaroni – DMR (10:09.41, second)

Andrew Whitaker – 60m hurdles (8.35, third)

Eddie Wintergalen – 400m (50.84, third)


Nicky Althoff – 4x400m relay (3:58.61, third)

Anna Cossio – DMR (12:00.38, second)

Julia Dannenbaum – Pole vault (3.77m, first)

Sophie Grigaux – 800m (2:14.05, third), 4x400m relay (3:58.61, third)

Eka Jose – Triple jump (11.32m, third)

Paige Lawler – 5,000m (17:20.42, first)

Alison Lindsay – 3,000m (10:03.61)

Abby Martin – DMR (12:00.38, second), one-mile (5:05.46, third)

Sara Mesiano – 4x400m relay (3:58.61, third)

Heidi Nassos – Pole vault (3.72m, second), triple jump (11.46m, second)

Jay Pittman – 60m hurdles (9.01, second)

Annalise Wagner – DMR (12:00.38, second), 800m (2:11.78, first), 4x400m relay (3:58.61, third)

Caira Watson Haynes – 60m hurdles (9.07, third)

Sophie Watterson – 3,000m (10:06.75, third)

Audrey Western – DMR (12:00.38, second)