WashU Earns 19 Spots on UAA 30th Anniversary S&D Team

WashU Earns 19 Spots on UAA 30th Anniversary S&D Team


Rochester, N.Y., Feb. 7, 2018
– Washington University in St. Louis had 19 student-athletes named to the University Athletic Association (UAA) All-Association 30th Anniversary Men's and Women's Swimming & Diving Teams, as announced by the Association Wednesday.

The team consists of each student-athlete who was named Swimmer of the Year, Diver of the Year, won an individual event at the NCAA Division III Swimming and Diving Championships, or won the same event at least three times at the UAA Swimming and Diving Championships.

The 19 total WashU student-athletes honored consisted of 10 women and nine men. Recent WashU Sports Hall of Fame inductee Meredith Nordbrock earned the honor with four consecutive event titles in the 200-yard individual medley from 2005 to 2008. 

Zane Turpin highlighted the men's selections as he won the 1,650 freestyle four-straight seasons from 2012-15, while Luke Dobben also won four 500-yard freestyles (2012-14 and 2016).

Lindsay Wilkinson placed first in four-consecutive UAA Championships including three-straight in the 100 freestyle (2000-02). She also placed first in the 50 yard freestyle her freshman season in 1999.

Rebecca Hanking (1989-90), Nancy Weinsier (1998-99), and Priya Srikanth (2007-08) earned back-to-back UAA Diver of the Year awards.

Earning UAA Swimmer of the Year accolades for the women were Jennifer Collins (1991), Tracey Hendrickson (2003), Nordbrock (2005), Carrie Register (1998) and Jenny Scott (2004). Ryan Braun (Diver - 2003), Turpin (Swimmer – 2013) and Michael Lagieski (Swimmer - 2014) earned UAA Diver/Swimmer of the Year during their respective careers.

NCAA Division III National Champions include: Michael Slavik (2006 – 50 freestyle), Eric Triebe (2006 – 200 freestyle), Alex Beyer (2009 – 400 individual medley, 2010 – 400 individual medley), Lagieski (2014 – 100 breaststroke), Reed Dalton (2015 – 100 butterfly, 2016 – 100 butterfly), Amanda Stadermann (2016 – 200 butterfly) and Brandon Lum (2017 – 200 butterfly).