Men’s Basketball Has Six Named to NABC Honors Court

Men’s Basketball Has Six Named to NABC Honors Court

St. Louis, Mo., July 19, 2017 – The Washington University in St. Louis men's basketball team had six student-athletes named to the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) Honors Court, recognizing those student-athletes who excelled in academics during the past season. 

The Bears honored included senior Michael Bregman, senior CJ Harrington, senior Clinton Hooks, junior Jake Knupp, junior Andrew Sanders and junior Sasha Sobolev.

In order to be named to the Honors Court, a student-athlete must be academically a junior or senior and have a cumulative grade point average of 3.2 or higher at the conclusion of the 2016-17 academic year.

The Bears were also honored with the Team Academic Excellence Award, created by the NABC Committee on Academics. This marks the Bears fourth selection in the last five years.

WashU was one of five schools (Carnegie Mellon, Case Western Reserve, Chicago, Emory) honored from the University Athletic Association (UAA). 

These awards recognize outstanding academic achievement by a team with a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or better for the 2016-17 season. In order to earn an NABC Team Academic Excellence Award, an institution must count the GPAs of all men's basketball student-athletes. WashU had a cumulative GPA of 3.139 for the 2016-17 school year.

WashU finished the 2016-17 season with a 21-6 overall mark and won its 14th UAA Championship in school history. The Bears also advanced to the second round of the NCAA Tournament.