WashU Lands Seven on NFF Hampshire Honor Society

WashU Lands Seven on NFF Hampshire Honor Society


St. Louis, Mo., April 5, 2017 — Washington University in St. Louis had seven student-athletes named to the 2017 National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame (NFF) Hampshire Honor Society, which is comprised of college football players from all divisions of play who each maintained a cumulative 3.2 GPA or better throughout their college careers.

A total of 1,089 players from 297 schools qualified for membership in the society's 11th year, both new single-year records in the history of the program.

Seniors Nick Annin, Jerry Bauer, John Doty, Matt Page, Zack Schuler, Josiah Situmeang and Austin Smestad each earned the honor.

The NFF Hampshire Honor Society capitalizes on the NFF's National Scholar-Athlete program by greatly expanding the number of scholar-athletes the NFF can recognize each year. The program further strengthens the organization's leadership role in encouraging academic performance by the student-athletes who play football at the 777 colleges and universities with football programs nationwide.

WashU finished the 2016 season with an 8-3 overall record and made its third NCAA playoff appearance in school history. The eight wins are the second most in school history. The Bears were also co-champions in the Southern Athletic Association (SAA) and the University Athletic Association (UAA).