WashU Football Lands 12 on NFF Hampshire Honor Society

WashU Football Lands 12 on NFF Hampshire Honor Society

St. Louis, Mo., May 1, 2016 — Washington University in St. Louis had 12 student-athletes named to the 2016 National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame (NFF) Hampshire Honor Society, which is comprised of college football players from all divisions of play who each maintained a cumulative 3.2 GPA or better throughout their college careers.

A total of 872 players from 277 schools qualified for membership as the society celebrates its 10th year, setting a new record for the number of players honored in the history of the program, which began in 2007.

Seniors Ross Chukerman, Brian Douglas, Luke Duffy, Max Elliott, Matt Goad, Alex Hallwachs, Ben Lake, Quincy Marting, Matt McCareins, Mitch McMahon, Dylan Petre and Cody Ratermann each earned the honor.

The NFF Hampshire Honor Society capitalizes on the NFF's National Scholar-Athlete program by greatly expanding the number of scholar-athletes the NFF can recognize each year. The program further strengthens the organization's leadership role in encouraging academic performance by the student-athletes who play football at the 775 colleges and universities with football programs nationwide.

A total of 32 schools have had at least one student-athlete recognized in each of the Hampshire Honor Society's 10 years: Austin Peay State, Baylor, Brown, Bucknell, BYU, Colorado, Columbia, Dayton, Huntingdon (Ala.), Iowa, Johns Hopkins (Md.), Kentucky, Lafayette, Minnesota, Minnesota Duluth, Montana, North Dakota, North Dakota State, Northern Iowa, Penn State, Purdue, Redlands (Calif.), Saint John's (Minn.), SMU, South Dakota State, Wartburg (Iowa), WashU, Wayne State (Mich.), West Virginia, Wingate (N.C.), Yale and Youngstown State.

WashU finished the 2015 season with a 6-4 overall record, securing its 21st winning season under Kindbom. The Bears were co-champions of the University Athletic Association (UAA), and tied for fourth in the Southern Athletic Association (SAA).