Men's and Women's Tennis Teams Earn ITA All-Academic Honors

Men's and Women's Tennis Teams Earn ITA All-Academic Honors

St. Louis, Mo., July 11, 2014 – The Washington University in St. Louis men’s and women’s tennis teams each received 2014 Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) All-Academic accolades, as announced by the organization. In addition, the two programs combined to have 15 student-athletes receive ITA Scholar-Athlete recognition.

Washington U. was one of three University Athletic Association (UAA) institutions to have both its men’s and women’s tennis teams earn the honor. Carnegie Mellon University and the University of Rochester also had their men’s and women’s programs received All-Academic recognition, while the Case Western Reserve University men’s team was also on the list. In total, 85 women’s teams and 48 men’s teams from NCAA Division III received the All-Academic award. In order to qualify for ITA All-Academic honors, a team must hold a minimum GPA of 3.20.

The WUSTL men had eight individuals named to the 2014 ITA Scholar-Athlete team, while the Washington U. women had seven student-athletes receive the accolade. In order to qualify for ITA Scholar-Athlete honors, an individual must have had at least a 3.50 GPA during the 2013-14 academic year.

Seniors Max Franklin, Jeffrey Hirsch and Tim Noack, juniors Parker Chang, Ross Putterman and Eric Zishka, and sophomores Josh Cogan and Tyler Kratky received Scholar-Athlete honors for the Washington U. men. The WUSTL women were represented by seniors Betsy Edershile, Evelyn Qin and Corinne Rauck, junior Hanna Newstadt, sophomores Jamie Silverberg and Erin Wong, and freshman Mindy Borovsky.

The Washington University men’s and women’s tennis teams both advanced to the 2014 NCAA Division III Quarterfinals. The men’s team finished its season with a 21-3 record and ranked No. 5 nationally. The women’s team finished with a No. 8 national ranking after posting a 19-6 overall record.